Saturday, January 4, 2003 - Results
Crawford and Goldsack Take Alberta Cup Sprints

Canadian National team skier Drew Goldsack won today's Alberta Cup sprint race, narrowly beating Phil Villeneuve. Goldsack qualified fastest and confirmed his dominance in the elimination rounds. Banff's Phil Widmer finished third and is automatically selected to the Alberta Canada Games Team, confirming his growing reputation as one of Canada's finest junior sprinters. Connal Robertson-More finished fourth.

The women's final was as exciting as it gets. Tara Whitten, the fastest qualifier on the day, dominated the early heats but ran out of gas on the last climb of the final. She was followed closely into the final downhill by Chandra Crawford and Rhonda Sandau. Crawford used the draft to move past Whitten for the win. Sandau also moved past Whitten and looked likely to take second place but fell hard with five meters to go, losing her podium to spot to Whitten, who took second and Sarah Daitch who finished third.

The final day of Alberta Cup racing will be tomorrow with mass-start classic races. The fast, short and relatively flat course should make for exciting finishes.

Complete results will be posted at when available.

This page is maintained by the
Copyright 2002,