Saturday, January 26, 2002 - Results
Crawford 12th in World Junior Sprints

Canada posted it's best World Junior results since 1996 today. Chandra Crawford of Canmore, Alberta qualified 15th to advance to the elimination rounds, where she finished 12th, just missing the semi-final round. This is the best Canadian result since Amanda Fortier was 8th in the 15km skate race at the 1996 World Junior Championships in Asiago, Italy. Overnight rain and warm temperatures (+8) again made conditions tough. The track was hard during qualifying, but broke down and became very soft in the finals. The women's sprint was won by Mona-Liisa Malvalehto of Finland, followed by Nicole Fessel of Germany in second and Kjersti Nordberg of Norway in third.

On the men's side, Sean Crooks also skied strongly, qualifying 18th and just missing the elimination rounds (top 16 advance). His 18th place is the best Canadian men's result at World Juniors in nine years, when Robin McKeever was 14th in the 10km classic at the 1993 World Junior Championships. Johannes Bredl of Germany won the men's sprint, ahead of Ulrich Eger of Austria and Frederik Bystrom of Sweden.

The American team also continued to post top results. Andrew Newell qualified second and went on to finish 8th in the elimination round. Leif Zimmermann also qualified, eventually finished 16th. The American women were led by Kikkan Randall in 19th place.

The rest of the Canadian team also posted strong results. Colleen Mortimer of Ottawa, Ontario finished 23rd, just 2.2 seconds from qualifying for the elimination rounds. Devon Kershaw of Sudbury, Ontario also had a strong day, finishing 25th, just 2.9 seconds from qualification.

North American Women:
12. Chandra Crawford (CAN)
19. Kikkan Randall (USA)
23. Colleen Mortimer (CAN)
33. Lindsey Weier (USA)
43. Lindsey Williams (USA)
48. Kristina Trygstad-Saari (USA)
51. Madeleine Williams (CAN)
62. Shayla Swanson (CAN)

North American Men:
8. Andrew Newell (USA)
16. Leif Zimmermann (USA)
18. Sean Crooks (CAN)
21. Ryan Foster (USA)
25. Devon Kershaw (CAN)
43. Jonathan Blais (CAN)
59. Connal Robertson-More (CAN)
64. Benjamin Ruffatto (USA)

Complete results are available in PDF format:

This page is maintained by the
Copyright 2002,