Sunday, March 5, 2006 - Canadian Nationals
RMR and Lappe Nordic Win Nationals Relays - Story and Photos

Lappe wins Senior Women Relay

The Lappe Nordic women's relay team thrilled the hometown crowd by taking a 17.2 second win over Foothills Nordic Ski Club in the opening day of the 2006 Canadian Championships in Thunder Bay, Ontario. Rebecca Puiras, Brook Latimer and Tasha Betcherman led after the first leg and only briefly relinquished the lead in the 3x5km relay event. Foothill Nordic held on to the silver medal after a dominating final leg from Edmonton Nordic's Tara Whitten. Whitten's leg time of 13 minutes and 51.7 seconds was the fastest women's time of the day.

Tara Whitten in the Relay

In the men's 3x5km relay Erik Carleton put in the fastest time of the day to move his Rocky Mountain Racers club into the gold medal position. Carleton and teammates Luke McGurk and David Zylberberg beat out hometown Big Thunder Ski Club by 25 seconds for the win, with Team Hardwood in 3rd.

Robin McKeever in Relay

In the challenge boys event the Banff Ski Runners team of Evan Bruce, Jess Cockney and Haakon Lenes took a dominating win by almost a minute over Lappe Nordic. Big Thunder took the final podium spot in 3rd.

In the challenge girls race Foothills Nordic took the gold medal with Sara Hewitt, Marlis Kromm and Hannah Perry. Banff Ski Runners was 11.2 seconds back with Porcupine Ski Runners third.

Complete results are available

Skifaster Discussion - Your Opinions, Ideas, Questions, Comments on this article.

This page is maintained by the
Copyright 2002,