Sunday, March 20, 2005 - Results
Beckie Scott 7th in Goteborg Sprint

Goteborg, SWE - Beckie Scott sprinted into seventh place for the second consecutive race at a World Cup in Goteborg, Sweden on Wednesday.

The Vermilion, Alta. native, who qualified for the round of 16 heats in 12th spot, was relegated to the consolation final after crossing the line third in her semifinal heat. The heats consist of four athletes racing simultaneously, with the top-two athletes crossing the line first moving onto the next round.

International speedster, Marit Bjoergen of Norway, captured the gold medal in the final sprint of the season. Bjoergen fought off a hard-charging Aino Kaisa Saarinen of Finland, who settled for the silver medal, while Finland's Virpi Kuitunen grabbed the bronze.

Sara Renner of Canmore, Alta. was the only other Canadian woman to compete, and just missed qualifying for the finals, finishing in 17th spot. No American women raced.

On the men's side of the draw, Norway's Trond Iversen was the first to cross the line and make his way to the top of the podium. Finland's Kiejo Kurttila took home the silver medal, while Norway's Ola Vigen Hattestad rounded out the top-three on the podium.

Three Canadian men also competed in Wednesday's sprints, but all failed to qualify for the heats with the top-16. George Grey of Rossland, B.C. was the top Canuck in 52nd. Drew Goldsack of Red Deer, Alta. finished in 57th, while Devon Kershaw of Sudbury, Ont. was 59th. American Andrew Newell sprinted his way to a 45th place finish, while Zach Simons finished 64th, second from last.

The Canadian Cross-Country Ski Team will compete in the final World Cup race of the season on Saturday when they suit up for the pursuit discipline in Sweden.

Complete results available at

World Cup Women's Free Sprint - Goteborg, Sweden
1. Marit Bjoergen, NOR
2. Aino Kaisa Saarinen, FIN
3. Virpi Kuitunen, FIN
4. Anna Dahlberg, SWE
5. Christine Kelder, ITA
7. Beckie Scott, Vermilion, Alta.
17. Sara Renner, Canmore, Alta

World Cup Men's Free Sprint - Goteborg, Sweden
1. Trond Iversen, NOR
2. Keijo Kurttila, FIN
3. Ola Vigen HattestadNOR
4. Tor Arne Hetland, NOR
5. Christian Zorzi, ITA
45. Andrew Newell, USA
52. George Grey, Rossland, B.C.
57. Drew Goldsack, Red Deer, Alta.
59. Devon Kershaw, Sudbury, Ont
64. Zach Simons, USA

Source: Cross Country Canada

This page is maintained by the
Copyright 2002,