Sunday, March 20, 2005 - Results
Zylberberg and Jones Take Eastern Canadian Skate Titles

Ottawa residents Perianne Jones and David Zylberberg both took to the top step of the podium at the Eastern Canadian Championships yesterday. Both skiers fought off strong challenges to win by nearly identical margins, with Jones taking the women's 10km skate by just 6.3 seconds and Zylberberg winning by 6.1 seconds.

Second place in the women's race went to Tasha Betcherman, with Jones' Junior National Team mate Amanda Ammar in third. In them men's race it was Eric Carleton taking the second step on the podium with Stephen Hart in third.

The Canada Cup series now moves to Hinton, Alberta for the Western Canadian Championships next weekend.

Complete results can be found at

Open Women 10 km F
1. Perianne Jones JW   25.56.9   Nakkertok SC
2. Tasha Betcherman    26.03.2   Lappe Nordic
3. Amanda Ammar JW   26.35.1  Edmonton Nordic
4. Sheila Kealey              27.15.6  XC Ottawa
5. Christine Bisson        27.25.0  Club Nordique MSA
6. Claire Rennie JW       27.32.8  Banff Ski Runners
7. Karla Mika                27:53.1  Highlands Nordic   
8. Kerrie Fabius           27:55.9  Big Thunder Nordic 
9. Andrea Dupont          27:56.6 University of Waterloo     
10. Rhonda Sandau      28:18.8 / Foothills

Open Men 15 km F
1. David Zylberberg       34.12.7   XC Ottawa
2. Erik Carleton              34.18.8   Banff Ski Runners
3. Stephen Hart              34.46.5   Team Hardwood
4. Karl Saidla                  34.52.2   XC Ottawa
5. Charles Nadeau        34.59.8   Skielite
6. Sean Crooks              35.16.2   Big Thunder Nordic
7. Casey Dyck              35:19.7   Foothills Nordic
8. Alex Harvey              35:20.1    Club Nordique MSA
9. Chris Butler              35:31.1   Big Thunder/Jr Nat
10. Robbie Bewick        35:31.3     Laurentian Nordic  

This page is maintained by the
Copyright 2002,