Sunday, March 20, 2005 - Results
Crooks and Bisson Dominate Eastern Canadian Champs Classic

Sean Crooks and Christine Bisson both stormed their way to victories on the largely flat classic course at the Eastern Canadian Championships and Canada Cup in Hull, Quebec yesterday.

Crooks, a member of the Canadian National Team, led from the start to post a winning time of 28:45.3 in the 10km race. Crooks was followed by Team Hardwood's Stephen Hart 25 seconds behind, with XC Ottawa's Karl Saidla rounding out the podium for an all Ontario sweep.

In the women's 5km race, Bisson posted a very similar winning margin of 32 seconds over Junior National Team skier Perianne Jones. Amanda Ammar took the final podium spot a further 2.2 seconds behind.

Action continues today with 10km and 15km skate races.

Complete results are available at

Open Men 10 km Classic
1.  Sean Crooks  U23         Big Thunder Nordic/NST                28:45.3

2.  Stephen Hart                   Team Hardwood                             29:10.1

3.  Karl Saidla                       XC Ottawa                                         29:16.4

4.  Erik Carleton                   Banff Ski Runners                           29:17.2

5.  Phil Widmer  U23           Banff Ski Runners/NST                  29:40.0

6.  David Zylberberg            XC Ottawa                                         29:42.4

7.  Chris Butler   JM            Big Thunder Nordic/NST Jr             29:42.9

8.  Joel Jaques  U23          Banff Ski Runners                           29.49.8

9.  Bryon Hughson              Team Hardwood                             29.53.1

10.Alex Harvey  JM               Club Nordique MSA                        29.56.5



Open Women 5 km Classic  

1.  Christine Bisson               Club Nordique MSA/ NDTC        15.28.6

2.  Perianne Jones  JW         Nakkertok  SC/ NST Jr                 16.00.4

3.  Amanda Ammar  JW        Edmonton Nordic/ NST Jr           16.02.6

4.  Tasha Betcherman           Lappe Nordic                                16.07.5

5.  Kerrie Fabius                     Big Thunder Nordic/ NDTC         16.09.6

6.  Megan McTavish                XC Ottawa                                      16.29.7

7.  Claude Goodbout JW       Skibec                                             16.31.5

8.  Karla Mika                           Highlands Nordic                         16.37.4

9.  Emily Hayman   U23         Big Thunder Nordic                       16.40.4

10 Andrea Dupont                   U. Waterloo                                    16.43.0

This page is maintained by the
Copyright 2002,