Sunday, November 4, 2001 - LatestNews
Cross Country Canada Press Release

Canadian Women dominate day two of Continental Cup season opener Fairbanks, Alaska - The Canadian Nordic Women's team reminded North Americans of why their World Cup relay silver medal win last year was no fluke. In day two of the season opening Continental Cup in Fairbanks, Alaska today, the women's team took four out of the top five spots in the 10km classic style event, in a field that was made up of North America’s top skiers.

The Canadian skiers were at the end of an intensive two-week training period in Fairbanks, and were pleased with their results today.

"We were all neck and neck during the race, which is a good sign for the team," says third place finisher Amanda Fortier from Edmonton, Alberta. "Considering the intensity of training these past two weeks, it was good to see that we could all go out and still race well. It's great to start the season on a positive note."

Beckie Scott, North America’s 2002 Olympic medal hopeful skied to a convincing victory today, finishing over one minute ahead of American veteran skier Nina Kempel.

Scott finished in a time of 31:15, followed by Alaskan skier, Kempel in 32:28 and Fortier in 32:40. Canmore, Alberta's Sara Renner finished in 32:48, followed by teammate Milaine Theriault from St. Quentin, New Brunswick a mere 2 seconds later in 32:50.

On the men's side, the American men took top honours with New Hampshire's Kris Freeman and Andrew Johnson finishing in 43:09.3 and 43:16.2 respectively. Bend, Oregon's Patrick Weaver and Justin Wadsworth followed in 43:32.2 and 43:37. The top Canadian man was Calgary's Robin McKeever in 6th in 44:00.8, followed by Donald Farley from Lorraine, Quebec in 9th in 44:07.8. Ottawa's Chris Jeffries rounded out the Canadian top 3 spots in a time of 44:32.4 for his 13th place finish.

Blanka Jelen, Communications Director @ or
Web site: - link to Fairbanks Race Event site with complete results
National Team media kits are available upon request

This page is maintained by the
© Copyright 2002,